Skip to main content

The College of Arts and Sciences

The College is the oldest and largest degree-granting unit at IU Bloomington.

About The College

With a tradition of excellence in the liberal arts and sciences stretching back to the founding of Indiana University in 1820, the College of Arts and Sciences offers more than 90 baccalaureate majors leading to the Bachelor of Arts, the Bachelor of Science, the Bachelor of Arts in Journalism, the Bachelor of Fine Arts and the Bachelor of Liberal Studies degrees. In addition to educating our majors, the College also provides a significant portion of the campus-wide General Education courses.

At the heart of the College's tradition is excellence in teaching based on excellence in research. College faculty, who are at the forefront of their disciplines, teach at all levels of the curriculum, from freshman through senior and graduate courses. Although the content of courses has changed as society has changed and knowledge has developed, the College faculty has always sought to provide students with specialized knowledge in a major field of study that is enriched by a broad liberal arts education. For more than two centuries, the mission of the faculty has been to provide students with the knowledge, skills, and perspectives to help them develop an understanding of themselves and the world around them through a combination of specialized and general study.

The College includes the departments, programs, centers, and institutes that span the Arts and Humanities, Natural and Mathematical Sciences, and Social and Historical Sciences as well as our three schools: the School of Art, Architecture and Design; the School of Global and International Studies; and the Media School.